The Irish Channel has a rich history in New Orleans, with origins as a working class neighborhood. Today, you can drive the streets of the Channel and find dumpsters on almost every block – signs of the revitalization and renovations happening throughout the community.
Bounded by Magazine St, Delachaise St, Tchoupitoulas St and Jackson Avenue, the Irish Channel was designated a Historic District in 2002.
Between 1833 and 1852 the working waterfront in the City of Lafayette flourished, providing a major source of jobs. The 1840s saw a large number of Irish immigrants to New Orleans, as many fled the ravages of the potato famine in Ireland. The Irish and other immigrants in this area primarily worked along the bustling docks that sprang up in Lafayette. The working class dock‐hand origins of the neighborhood can still be seen in the architectural fabric of the area, which is composed primarily of simple houses, including many single and double shotgun cottages and a number of warehouses and other dock‐related structures. Most of these buildings date to the second half of the 19th century. Read more about the Irish Channel history at NOLA.gov.