Skip To Content

What Is A Non-disclosure State?

What is a nondisclosure state?

Louisiana is a non-disclosure state

One of the things that people love to do is surf around on Zillow and check out the Zestimates. But, if you read the fine print, you’ll discover that in non-disclosure states, they are basically taking a wild guess at values, because they don’t have access to the actual sold prices.

What does that even mean?

In short, the information on home sale prices is public record, but it’s not sent to any third parties like Zillow or or other home listing sites. You could walk into the mortgage and conveyance office and look it up, but there’s no electronic data feed sent to anyone – not even real estate agents.

Currently, the non-disclosure states are Alaska, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Montana, New Mexico, North Dakota, Texas, Utah, and Wyoming. In Missouri, some of their counties (parishes to us Louisianians) are non-disclosure as well.

How do I know if I’m paying a fair price for a house?

That’s where your REALTORĀ® comes into the picture. The beauty of our multiple listing service (MLS) is that we share with each other the sold data for any property listed and/or sold by an agent. In only a few minutes, we can help you determine a fair price to offer for just about any property out there. Just ask, we’re happy to help.

How can we help you today? Call us at 504-327-5303


Trackback from your site.

nola broker

New Orleans REALTORS providing home buying, selling, and rental services throughout the metropolitan New Orleans communities.

Leave a Reply


About our blog

Real buying, selling, and renting advice from New Orleans REALTORS